Football Writers Association of America Jan. 6, 2014
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Griffith
13th annual team features 21 true freshmen
Bookmark and Share  

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. (FWAA) The 13th annual Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-America Team has been announced, led by two key figures in tonight's VIZIO BCS National Championship Game, Florida State quarterback and Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn.

Winston, the Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback, became the second quarterback to be named to both the FWAA All-America Team and its Freshman All-America Team, following in the footsteps of Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel a season ago. North Carolina kick returner Ryan Switzer was also named to both FWAA All-America teams. Only three other players have earned a spot on both teams: Oklahoma running back Adrian Peterson (2004); and Texas Tech wide receiver Michael Crabtree and Missouri wide receiver/return specialist Jeremy Maclin (2007). The FWAA has named a Freshman All-America team since the 2001 season.

Malzahn, in his first season as the head coach at Auburn, claimed the first-year coaching honors after his Tigers completed a 12-1 regular season the claim the Southeastern Conference title. Last month, Malzahn was named the winner of the Eddie Robinson Award as the FWAA's National Coach of the Year.

The team and coach are selected by an 10-person panel of nationally-prominent writers led by Mike Griffith of the MLive Media Group. Both true freshmen (21 players) and redshirt freshmen (seven players) were considered for the team and are so noted.

Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Hometown
QB Jameis Winston, Florida State 6-4 228 Bessemer, Ala.
RB Alex Collins, Arkansas 5-11 206 Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
RB Elijah McGuire, Louisiana 5-11 185 Houma, La.
WR Tyler Boyd, Pittsburgh 6-2 185 Clairton, Pa.
WR Corey Davis, Western Michigan 6-2 205 Wheaton, Ill.
WR Nate Phillips, Arizona 5-7 177 Chandler, Ariz.
TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas 6-6 250 Little Rock, Ark.
OL Jack Conklin, Michigan State 6-6 236 Plainwell, Mich.
OL Andrew Jelks, Vanderbilt 6-6 290 Paris, Tenn.
OL Alex Kozan, Auburn 6-4 297 Castle Rock, Colo.
OL Ben Lauer, Minnesota 6-6 302 Plymouth, Minn,
OL Alex Redmond, UCLA 6-5 305 Cerritos, Calif
Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Hometown
DL Tarell Basham, Ohio 6-4 250 Rocky Mount, Va.
DL Joey Bosa, Ohio State 6-6 275 Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
DL  Eddie Vanderdoes, UCLA 6-4 305 Auburn, Calif,
LB Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma 6-2 216 Tulsa, Okla.
LB Dakota Cox, New Mexico 6-0 235 Draper, Utah
LB Addison Gillam, Colorado 6-3 225 Palo Cedro, Calif.
LB Myles Jack, UCLA 6-1 225 Bellevue, Wash.
DB Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech 5-11 193 Baltimore, Md.
DB Jacoby Glenn, UCF 6-0 176 Prichard, Ala.
DB Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida 5-11 192 Tampa, Fla.
DB Jalen Ramsey, Florida State 6-1 195 Smyrna, Tenn.
DB Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma 5-11 176 Keller, Texas
Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Hometown
P Austin Rehkow, Idaho 6-3 202 Veradale, Wash.
K Michael Geiger, Michigan State 5-8 186 Toledo, Ohio
PR Ryan Switzer, North Carolina 5-10 175 Charleston, W. Va.
KR Stacey Coley, Miami 6-1 180 Pompano Beach, Fla.
Gus Malzahn, Auburn
Denotes true freshman

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

All-Time FWAA Freshman All-America Teams
2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013

Mark Anderson, Las Vegas Review Journal Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas City Star
Aaron Fentress, Comcast SportsNet Northwest Brian Murphy, Idaho Statesman
Andrew Gribble, Alabama Media Group Phil Stukenborg, Memphis Commercial Appeal
Mike Griffith, MLive Media Group John Wagner, Toledo Blade
Tommy Hicks, Mobile Press-Register Greg Wallace, Freelance