Football Writers Association of America Oct. 12, 2010
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Junior safety leads win over Texas A&M
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) Arkansas safety Tramain Thomas has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games of the weekend of Oct. 9.


Thomas, a 6-0, 198-pound junior from Winnie, Texas, registered a season-high seven tackles along with an interception, two fumble recoveries, a pass deflection and a half-tackle for loss in Arkansas' 24-17 victory over Texas A&M. His interception came in the end zone as time expired to seal the triumph for the Razorbacks in Arlington, Texas.

Thomas will be added to the 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be presented to the best defensive player in college football on Dec. 6 by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. The keynote address will be given by Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney and Notre Dame's Mike McCoy from the Class of 1969 will receive this year's Bronko Nagurski Legends Award. Five finalists for the Nagurski Trophy will be announced on Nov. 18.

Each week during the 2010 season the FWAA All-America Committee has selected a national defensive player of the week from nominations made by the 11 Division I Bowl Subdivision Conferences and major independents.

Last season, Nebraska tackle Ndamukong Suh won the coveted Bronko Nagurski Trophy during the 15th season the FWAA named a national defensive player of the year.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

2010 Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week
Sept. 4: Kenny Tate, Maryland
Sept. 11: Chimdi Chekwa, Ohio State
Sept. 18: Patrick Larimore, UCLA
Sept. 25: Robert Lester, Alabama
Oct. 2: Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
Oct. 9: Tramain Thomas, Arkansas
Oct. 16: Chris White, Mississippi State
Oct. 23: J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
Oct. 30: Sio Moore, Connecticut
Nov. 6: Michael Hodges, Texas A&M