Football Writers Association of America Sept. 7, 2010
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Junior safety keys nail-biting win over Navy in opener
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) Maryland free safety Kenny Tate has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games of the weekend of Sept. 4.


Tate, a 6-4, 220-pound junior from Forestville, Md., made the play of the game in the Terrapins' 17-14 victory on Monday when he stopped Navy quarterback Ricky Dobbs on fourth down from the 1-yard line with 34 seconds remaining.

Tate made several big plays during the game while registering a career-high 12 tackles. He forced two Navy fumbles, one inside the 5-yard line when it appeared Navy was able to tie the score in the third quarter.

Tate will be added to the 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be presented to the best defensive player in college football on Dec. 6 by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Five finalists for the Nagurski Trophy will be announced on Nov. 18.

Each week during the 2010 season the FWAA All-America Committee has selected a national defensive player of the week from nominations made by the 11 Division I Bowl Subdivision Conferences and major independents.

Last season, Nebraska tackle Ndamukong Suh won the coveted Bronko Nagurski Trophy during the 15th season the FWAA named a national defensive player of the year.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

2010 Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week
Sept. 4: Kenny Tate, Maryland
Sept. 11: Chimdi Chekwa, Ohio State
Sept. 18: Patrick Larimore, UCLA
Sept. 25: Robert Lester, Alabama
Oct. 2: Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
Oct. 9: Tramain Thomas, Arkansas
Oct. 16: Chris White, Mississippi State
Oct. 23: J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
Oct. 30: Sio Moore, Connecticut
Nov. 6: Michael Hodges, Texas A&M