Football Writers Association of America July 27, 2021
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
80 players get consideration for nation's top interior lineman
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) — The Football Writers Association of America has announced the preseason watch list for the 2021 Outland Trophy, recognizing 80 returning standout interior linemen representing all 10 Division I FBS conferences and independents. The 2021 season continues a celebration of the award's 75th anniversary and the watch list presents a talented field of players to accompany three returning FWAA All-Americans.

The recipient of the 2021 Outland Trophy will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards, live on ESPN in December. The official presentation to the winner will be made at the Outland Trophy Awards Dinner sponsored by Werner Enterprises and produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee in Omaha, Neb., on Jan. 12, 2022.

Kenyon Green, a 2020 Outland semifinalist as a first-team FWAA All-American offensive guard at Texas A&M last year, tops the list as the only first-team interior lineman to return. The Aggies, who also have defensive tackle McKinnley Jackson on the list, are one of 18 teams to have at least two players on the watch list. One other returning All-American, Iowa center Tyler Linderbaum highlights the top returning interior linemen. Linderbaum was a second-team selection a year ago.

Five schools boast three selections each, including two of last year's College Football Playoff qualifiers in Clemson and Ohio State. Two of Clemson's are defensive tackles, Bryan Bresee and Tyler Davis, along with offensive tackle Jordan McFadden, are touted. Ohio State's offensive line is bolstered by tackles Thayer Munford and Nicholas Petit-Frere and its defense features tackle Haskell Garrett.

Boston College, which pairs with Clemson to give the Atlantic Coast Conference six of its national-best 14 players, has center Alec Lindstrom in between guard Zion Johnson and offensive tackle Tyler Vrabel. Oklahoma’s high-powered offense has guards Tyrese Robinson and Marquis Hayes and a third member, Perrion Winfrey at defensive tackle. Georgia is the only SEC school with a trio of players – guards Jamaree Salyer and Justin Shaffer, and defensive tackle Jordan Davis.

After the ACC, the Big Ten boasts 13 selections spread among nine different schools and the SEC has 11 total from seven schools. Defending national champion Alabama is represented by a tackle on each side of the ball, Evan Neal on offense and Phidarian Mathis on defense. Alabama offensive tackle Alex Leatherwood won the 2020 Outland Trophy before departing to the NFL as the 17th overall selection in the draft by the Las Vegas Raiders.

Two members of last season's FWAA Freshman All-America team, Northwestern offensive tackle Peter Skoronski and Tulsa offensive tackle Tyler Smith, are also on the watch list, which includes 26 offensive tackles, 26 guards, 16 centers and 13 defensive tackles.

G Henry Bainivalu, Washington OT Kenyon Green, Texas A&M G Jarrett Patterson, Notre Dame
OT Matthew Bedford, Indiana C Bryce Harris, Toledo OT Nicholas Petit-Frere, Ohio State
G Curtis Blackwell, Ball State G Marquis Hayes, Oklahoma OT Colby Ragland, UAB
C Nick Brahms, Auburn C Brock Hoffman, Virginia Tech G Tyrese Robinson, Oklahoma
DT Bryan Bresee, Clemson OT Jarrett Horst, Michigan State OT Walter Rouse, Stanford
DT C.J. Brewer, Coastal Carolina C Baer Hunter, App State G Jamaree Salyer, Georgia
OT Nick Broeker, Ole Miss G Ed Ingram, LSU G Cole Schneider, UCF
G Logan Bruss, Wisconsin DT McKinnley Jackson, Texas A&M G Derek Schweiger, Iowa State
OT Spencer Burford, UTSA G Zion Johnson, Boston College G Justin Shaffer, Georgia
C Mike Caliendo, Western Michigan OT Darian Kinnard, Kentucky G Josh Sills, Oklahoma State
G Trey Carter, Coastal Carolina OT Jaxson Kirkland, Washington OT Peter Skoronski, Northwestern
DT Will Choloh, Troy C Doug Kramer, Illinois OT Tyler Smith, Tulsa
DT Nolan Cockrill, Army C Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa OT Jack Snyder, San Jose State
C Keegan Cryder, Wyoming C Alec Lindstrom, Boston College G Jake Stetz, Boise State
DT Jordan Davis, Georgia DT Jermayne Lole, Arizona State DT Dante Stills, West Virginia
DT Tyler Davis, Clemson OT Vederian Lowe, Illinois OT Jaylon Thomas, SMU
C Dawson Deaton, Texas Tech OT Abe Lucas, Washington State OT Zachary Thomas, San Diego State
G Corey Dublin, Tulane G Cain Madden, Notre Dame OT Zach Tom, Wake Forest
G Ikem Ekwonu, N.C. State DT Phidarian Mathis, Alabama G O'Cyrus Torrence, Louisiana
C Nathan Eldridge, Oregon State OT Jordan McFadden, Clemson DT Raymond Vohasek, North Carolina
C James Empey, BYU C Mike Miranda, Penn State OT Tyler Vrabel, Boston College
G Joshua Ezeudu, North Carolina OT Thayer Munford, Ohio State OT Rasheed Walker, Penn State
C Alex Forsyth, Oregon OT Evan Neal, Alabama OT Sidney Wells, UAB
OT Jake Fuzak, Buffalo OT Zion Nelson, Miami C Dohnovan West, Arizona State
DT Haskell Garrett, Ohio State C Colin Newell, Iowa State OT Jarrid Williams, Miami
C Grant Gibson, N.C. State G Conner Olson, Minnesota DT Perrion Winfrey, Oklahoma
G Shamarious Gilmore, Georgia State G Dylan Parham, Memphis  
By conference: ACC 14, Big Ten 13, SEC 11, Big 12 8, Pac-12 8, Sun Belt 6, American Athletic 5, Independents 4, Mid-American 4, Mountain West 4, Conference USA 3.
By position: Offensive Tackles 27, Offensive Guards 25, Centers 16, Defensive Tackles 13.
Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration; Candidates may be added or removed during the season

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The Outland Trophy, celebrating 75 years since its founding, is the third-oldest major college football award. Created in 1946 when Dr. John Outland presented the FWAA with a financial contribution to initiate the award, the Outland Trophy has been given to the best interior lineman in college football ever since. Dr. Outland, an All-American at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1890s, eventually took up practice in Kansas City, Mo. An avid outdoorsman, Dr. Outland believed linemen did not get the credit they deserved and wanted an award to recognize them.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling preseason watch lists over a 10-day period this month. Sixteen of the association's 25 awards are presenting their preseason watch list during this time as the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the remaining 2021 preseason watch list calendar:

Wed., July 28: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 29: Hornung Award/Wuerffel Trophy
Fri., July 30: Maxwell Award

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

Related links:
All-time Outland Trophy winners, candidates
• Download 75th Anniversary Outland Trophy logo: Primary (.jpg) | Dark background (.jpg) | Illustrator (.ai)