Vol. 50, No. 2 January 2013 .pdf version
John Akers: We saved what seats we could
Joe Mitch: Scholarship will aid member's son or daughter
Kirk Wessler: Holding fire was the right approach
Frank Burlison: Search for Most Courageous candidates
Shaheen, Katha Quinn: A perfect match
Armstrong claims first, second in best writing contest
Complete writing contest results

Joe Mitch

USBWA's scholarship program will aid member's son or daughter

USBWA Executive Director

Bookmark and Share  

The USBWA has established a scholarship program for college-age children of dues-paying members.

A $1,000 scholarship will be awarded annually to the son or daughter of a USBWA member who is entering college next fall as a freshman or is enrolled in a junior college or four-year institution and plans to return to school in the fall.

The scholarship is renewable each year that the student remains in school, up to a maximum of four years, takes a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester and maintains a minimum 3.0 grade point average in college.

2012 Best Writing Contest winners
Invite a colleague to join the USBWA
Nominate a deserving award candidate
USBWA scholarship information, application

Only one scholarship will be awarded each year other than to those students who have their scholarships renewed.

The scholarships will be awarded to students who have demonstrated academic excellence and show achievement in citizenship and leadership in a community activity.

The deadline to apply is March 15, 2013. The application below is also available online on the USBWA website at usbwa.com. Applications should be sent to me at mitch@usbwa.com.

The student selected to receive the scholarship will be notified no later than June 1, 2013.

USBWA AWARDS: Nominations are being accepted for the USBWA Hall of Fame, Most Courageous and Rising Star awards.

The Hall of Fame was established in 1988 to honor members, past and present, who have either made significant contributions to the organization or are renowned for their achievements as a sports writer covering college basketball.

A committee comprised of current Hall of Fame members and a USBWA officer reviews the nominations and selects the inductees.

Last year's inductees were Mike DeCourcy of The Sporting News; Peter Finney of the New Orleans Times-Picayune; and Tom Cushman, retired from the San Diego Union-Tribune.Send nominations for the Hall of Fame to me at mitch@usbwa.com.

The USBWA Most Courageous Award is the organization's third-oldest award behind the Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy and the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award. It is presented to one male and one female recipient, recognizing individuals in college basketball for demonstrating extraordinary courage in the face of hardship and adversity.

Last year's winners were Bernard James, an Iraq-war veteran who didn't begin playing college basketball at Florida State until he was 24, and Pat Summitt, the legendary Tennessee women's coach who announced her retirement after being diagnosed with early-onset dementia. Most Courageous nominations should be sent to third vice president Frank Burlison at frank.burlison@gmail.com.

The Rising Star Award is presented annually to a member under 30 for journalistic excellence as a sports writer. Last year's winner was Steve Yanda of the Washington Post. Send nominations to USBWA President John Akers at johna19081@gmail.com.

All three awards will be announced in March and presented at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast at the Final Four in Atlanta in April.

February 2021
December 2020
June 2020
January 2020
November 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
November 2018
May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)