Vol. 46, No. 2 February 2009 .pdf version
Dick Jerardi: Final Four coming at us in high gear
Joe Mitch: '79 champs to highlight Final Four breakfast
Steve Carp: We're here to help
Brian Burwell: Coaches or writers more worthy evaluators?
Dana O'Neil: Leave the podium for politicians
Trio dominates best writing contest | Complete Results

Feinstein, Wahl, Freedman dominate USBWA best writing contest

John Feinstein of the Washington Post took a first place and two seconds, Grant Wahl of Sports Illustrated finished first and second and Lew Freedman of Basketball captured first- and fourth-place awards in the U.S. Basketball Writers Association best writing contest.

2008 USBWA Best Writing Contest results, results since 2001

Robbi Pickeral of the Raleigh News & Observer and Bud Withers of the Seattle Times also won individual categories.

Feinstein took first in spot news/game story for a piece on American University's first trip to the NCAA Tournament in 41 years. Feinstein finished second in moderate- length features and column writing.

Wahl won in magazine-length feature writing for a story about the popularity of the dribble-drive offense. Wahl also took second in enterprise/series reporting.

Freedman won for a column about the recollections of former Loyola (Ill.) players on their forgotten long-ignored barrier-breaking NCAA championship and finished fourth in game story/spot news reporting.

Pickeral won in enterprise/series reporting for a profile on North Carolina coach Roy Williams.

Withers won for moderate-length feature about Jeremy Pargo's journey from south Chicago to Gonzaga.

Other second-place finishers included Jeff Fox of CollegeHoopsNet.com (magazine-length features) and Kellis Robinett of the Idaho State Journal (spot news/game story).

Finishing third: Ken Davis of nbcsports.com (enterprise/series); Gordie Jones of The Morning Call (magazine-length); Rob Schultz of the Madison Capital Times (moderate-length); David Jones of the Harrisburg Patriot-News (columns); and Fran Blinebury of the Houston Chronicle (spot news/game story).

Other fourth-place finishers: Jack Styczynski, Basketball Times (enterprise/series); J. Brady McCullough, Kansas City Star (magazine-length features); Marty Dobrow of the Boston Globe (medium-length features); and Rick Bozich of the Louisville Courier-Journal (columns).

Fifth-place finishers: Ian Rapoport, Birmingham News (enterprise/series); Mike Sorensen, Deseret Morning News (magazine-length); Bryan Burwell, St. Louis Post Dispatch (medium-length); Gary Parish, cbssports.com (columns); and Pete Thamel of The New York Times (spot news).

May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
November 2018
May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)