

NCBWA NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

(Feb. 12, 2020) ncbwa.com

Contact: Bo Carter (bcarter@footballfoundation.com); Brent Ingram (brent.ingram@utsa.edu)

JIM ELLIS NAMED 45TH RECIPIENT OF THE NCBWA WILBUR SNYPP AWARD

DALLAS – Jim Ellis, one of the most legendary voices in college baseball who is in his 42nd year at Mississippi State, has been named the 45th recipient of the prestigious Wilbur Snypp Award, presented annually by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association for outstanding contributions to college baseball.

"I am truly honored to receive the Wilbur Snypp Award," Ellis said. "I am fortunate to have watched college baseball's golden years of growth. What a thrill it was to broadcast from dear old Rosenblatt my first season in 1979, and what an experience it was to broadcast from TD Ameritrade last year. When I compare the two experiences, it underscores the tremendous growth of college baseball in coaching, player development, administrative support, facilities, crowds and media coverage. I am humbled to think that I may have made some small contributions along the way."

Ellis, a native of West Point, Miss., and a 1969 graduate of Mississippi State, also assumed the play-by-play role for football and men's basketball at the start of the 2011-12 athletic season following the retirement of legendary voice Jack Cristil and served in that role for men's basketball until 2016-17 and football until the 2016 season. In addition to calling baseball, he had been serving as the weekly call-in show host for all three sports and hosting the weekly coaches' television shows. In 1998, 2002, 2013 and 2014, Ellis was named "Outstanding Broadcaster in Mississippi" by NSMA (National Sports Media Association) while representing Bulldog Sports Network and Learfield's Bulldog Sports Properties.

Since 1983, Ellis has been a part of MSU's basketball broadcast team, including the Bulldogs' memorable 1996 NCAA Final Four run. He became a radio analyst for MSU football in 1991 before taking over the play-by-play duties in 2011. Ellis was on the call for the memorable 2014 Bulldog football season that saw the program rise to the No. 1 ranking for the first time in the school's history.

"Jim has been an iconic voice in college baseball for over 40 years and is synonymous with Mississippi State," MSU Director of Athletics John Cohen said. "A true professional, he has had a front row seat to the greatest moments in Diamond Dawgs history. I would like to congratulate Jim on this incredible and well-deserved honor."

Ellis is the latest to join the ranks of Wilbur Snypp Award winners, national journalists and college administrators as the 2018 winner. The plaque memorializes longtime Ohio State sports information director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962, as well as an officer in the group. The NCBWA/Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of college baseball. Voting is conducted by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA College World Series directors, College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Fame members, decorated media members, and others.

"Jim Ellis has had a major impact on college baseball broadcasting for parts of six decades," said NCBWA executive director Bo Carter, "and he is very deserving of this top honor from the NCBWA. Besides being the 'voice' of Mississippi State baseball on radio since 1979, he has done so many great things to promote college athletics in general, and, particularly, college baseball from his historic place behind the microphone through MSU athletics and related areas."

Ellis is the latest to join the ranks of Wilbur Snypp Award winners, national journalists and college administrators as the 2019 winner. The honor memorializes longtime Ohio State sports information director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962, as well as an officer in the group. The Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of college baseball. Voting is conducted by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA College World Series directors, College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Fame members, decorated media members, and others.

Past Wilbur Snypp Award Winners

1975	Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
1976	Bill Esposito, St. John's
1977	Phil Langan, Cornell

1978 John Geis, Southern Conference 1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern 1980 Bob Culp, Western Michigan

Lou Pavlovich, Sr., Collegiate Baseball 1981

1982 Tom Price. South Carolina 1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson

Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald 1984

1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA Larry Keefe, Seton Hall 1986

Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News 1987 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha 1988

1989 Jim Wright, NCAA

1990 Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville 1991 Bill Little. University of Texas

1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman 1993 Bo Carter, Southwest Conference 1994 Lou Pavlovich, Jr., Collegiate Baseball

Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald 1995 1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA 1997 Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell 1998 Allan Simpson, Baseball America

Alan Cannon, Texas A&M 1999 2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America 2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball 2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA

Dennis Poppe, NCAA

2003 John Manuel, Baseball America 2004 Dana Heiss Grodin, USA TODAY Sports Weekly

2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss 2007 Barry Allen, Alabama

2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin

2009 2010 Lou Spry, NCAA

2005

2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/D1Baseball.com Eric Olson, Associated Press 2012

2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA 2014 John Sullivan, Rice

2015 David Feaster, Dick Howser Trophy

2016 Ralph Zobell, BYU

2017 Aaron Fitt, D1Baseball.com/Baseball America

2018 Kyle Peterson, ESPN

2019 Jim Ellis, Mississippi State Radio