National Collegiate Baseball Writers June 4, 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russell Anderson
Winner to be announced June 18 in Omaha

DENVER (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in Association with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the list of the 10 finalists for the Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball. Eight of the 10 finalists begin NCAA Regional play today.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2004 winner will announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 18 at 9:30 a.m. CDT.

The finalists include: Rutgers P Jeff Frazier, Nebraska 3B Alex Gordon, Ole Miss 1B/P Stephen Head, Texas P J.P. Howell, Rice P Philip Humber, East Carolina DH Ryan Jones, Virginia UT Joe Koshansky, Stanford 2B Jed Lowrie, South Carolina C Landon Powell and Long Beach State P Jered Weaver.

Player School Pos. Cl. Hometown
Jeff Frazier Rutgers OF Jr. Toms River, N.J.
Alex Gordon Nebraska 3B So. Lincoln, Neb.
Stephen Head Mississippi 1B/P So. Raymond, Miss.
J.P. Howell Texas P Jr. Sacramento, Calif.
Philip Humber Rice P Jr. Carthage, Texas
Ryan Jones East Carolina UT/ATH Sr. Gibsonia, Pa.
Joe Koshansky Virginia UT/ATH Sr. Fairfax, Va.
Jed Lowrie Stanford 2B So. Salem, Ore.
Landon Powell South Carolina C Sr. Apex, N.C.
Jered Weaver Long Beach State P Jr. Simi Valley, Calif.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 105th year of existence in 2004. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay area, and continues its solid role in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are:

1987 Mike Fiore, Miami
1988 Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State
1989 Scott Bryant, Texas
1990 Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade C.C. South
1991 Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas)
1992 Brooks Kieschnick, Texas
1993 Brooks Kieschnick, Texas
1994 Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech
1995 Todd Helton, Tennessee
1996 Kris Benson, Clemson
1997 J.D. Drew, Florida State
1998 Eddy Furniss, LSU
1999 Jason Jennings, Baylor
2000 Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech
2001 Mark Prior, Southern California
2002 Khalil Greene, Clemson
2003 Rickey Weeks, Southern

Related link:
Semifinalists named for 2004 Dick Howser Trophy (May 13)
Dick Howser Trophy official site (