Football Writers Association of America Sept. 6, 2021
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
FWAA to extend weekly team honor into a 20th season
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) – The Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with Florida Citrus Sports, is proud to extend a weekly tradition into its 20th season by selecting and presenting the Cheez-It Bowl National Team of the Week in college football. The new sponsorship deal will debut after this first full weekend schedule with the naming of the first honored team.

All Division I schools are eligible to be honored. The weekly recipient will be selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee. The first honoree will be unveiled this Tuesday, Sept. 7, and subsequent winners will be announced each Monday through Nov. 29. In all, the FWAA will select 13 winners this season.

Each honored team will receive a custom Cheez-It "care package" along with a hand-crafted game ball made in America by Dallas-based Big Game USA, the nation's leading manufacturer of custom footballs.

Some facts about the Cheez-It Bowl National Team of the Week:

  • 256 teams have been recognized as the National Team of the Week by the FWAA since 2002.
  • 100 different schools – including three from the FCS – have been recognized as the National Team of the Week.
  • 67 different schools have been honored multiple times.
  • Michigan State has earned the honor a national-best eight times, followed by Oklahoma with seven. Iowa State, Notre Dame, Stanford, Texas A&M and TCU have each won six times.

"We are excited to partner with Cheez-It and the Football Writers Association of America to present the National Team of the Week this season," Florida Citrus Sports CEO Steve Hogan said. "As college football fans, we're looking forward to honoring the sport's best teams each week this season."

"The National Team of the Week has consistently been one of our most cherished award programs," FWAA Executive Director Steve Richardson said. "With a new sponsor on board – the Cheez-It Bowl – we are excited to celebrate our 20th season honoring teams who win some of the season's most compelling games."

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of journalists, broadcasters, publicists, photographers and key executives in all areas of college football. The FWAA works to govern media access and gameday operations while presenting awards and honors, including an annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its programs and initiatives, contact Executive Director Steve Richardson at 214-870-6516 or

About the Cheez-It Bowl
The Cheez-It Bowl takes place on Wednesday, Dec. 29 at 5:15 p.m. ET in Orlando, Fla. The postseason contest is hosted by Florida Citrus Sports, a Central Florida-based nonprofit, and annually features top teams from the Atlantic Coast and Big 12 Conferences. Cheez-Itฎ, the best-selling cracker brand in the United States, signed on as the game's title sponsor in 2020 as part of its season-long support of college football. Last bowl season, No. 21 Oklahoma State beat No. 18 Miami 37-34 in front of an audience of Cheez-It "Wheel Live Fans." This year’s Cheez-It Bowl will be the 32nd edition of the game and its 21st in Orlando.

Related links:
• All-time FWAA National Teams of the Week
• Download Cheez-It Bowl National Team of the Week logo: .jpg | .eps

Andrea Adelson ACC
Evan Barnes Memphis Commercial Appeal American Athletic Conference
Kirk Bohls Austin American-Statesman Chairman
Travis Brown Bryan-College Station Eagle SEC
Ken Capps Conference USA
Brett Ciancia Pick Six Previews National
Angelique Chengelis Detroit News Big Ten Conference
Scott Dochterman The Athletic Big Ten Conference
Bryan Fischer Athlon Sports Pac-12 Conference
John Hoover Big 12 Conference
Adam Hunsucker Monroe News-Star Sun Belt Conference
Shehan Jeyarajah CBS Sports Big 12 Conference
Nate Mink Syracuse Post-Standard ACC
Tony Siracusa Last Word on College Football Pac-12 Conference
Phil Steele Phil Steele Publications National, Independents
David Ubben The Athletic SEC
Chris Vannini The Athletic Mountain West Conference
John Wagner Toledo Blade retired Mid-American Conference