

Jardin May jmay@orangebowl.org 305-341-4785

# Indiana Football Manager Receives 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award Nomination



MIAMI LAKES, FL. (www.orangebowl.org) - Indiana's Matt Stauder is this week's nominee for the 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Stauder, a senior manager, was diagnosed with Hodgkin's lymphoma in the spring, less than a year after losing his father to a heart attack.

"His mindset was: 'I've got a job to do. My dad would want me to do my job and do what I'm supposed to do,' " Hoosiers coach Tom Allen told the team's website this spring. "It spoke to where his heart was. "He manages for the love of Indiana University, the program, the guys on the team. He is so dependable. He works so hard. The players see it. In return, when he's in need, they immediately want to help."

Stauder, who is majoring in sport management and marketing, announced this week that his cancer is in remission. He rarely missed Hoosiers practices despite chemotherapy treatments. Allen gave Stauder the game ball following a season-opening win at FIU on Sept. 1, which was also the one-year anniversary of his father's passing.

Indiana running back Ricky Brookins started a GoFundMe page for Stauder in the spring, with the intent of alleviating as much of the treatment cost as possible. The site has raised nearly \$32,000.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

# Previous Winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

2017 D'Cota Dixon - Wisconsin2016 James Conner – Pittsburgh2015 Hunter Knighton - Miami2014 Laken Tomlinson - Duke

2013 Anthony Larceval - San Jose State
2012 Daniel Rodriguez - Clemson
2011 Arthur Ray - Michigan State
2010 Eric LeGrand - Rutgers

**2009** University of Connecticut Football Team

2008 Wilson Holloway - Tulsa 2007 Zerbin Singleton - Navy

2006 Ray Ray McElrathbey - Clemson

2005 Tulane Football Team2004 Haracia Colen - Memphis2003 Neil Parry - San Jose State2002 William Bratton - Toledo

## **2018 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees**

- Sept. 12: John Schlarman, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot
- <u>Sept. 19: Nic Weishar, Notre Dame</u> | <u>High-resolution headshot</u>
- Sept. 26: Rex Culpepper, Syracuse | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 3: Caleb Farley, Virginia Tech | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 10: Antwan Dixon, Kent State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 17: Marquez Stevenson, Houston | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 24: Janarius Robinson, Florida State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 24: Tre Brown, Oklahoma | High-resolution headshot

### **Related link:**

• Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award

#### **About the Orange Bowl**

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-2019 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to <a href="https://www.orangebowl.org">www.orangebowl.org</a> or follow the @OrangeBowl on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

#### **About FWAA**

Founded in 1941, the **Football Writers Association of America** consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-

day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at <a href="mailto:tiger@fwaa.com">tiger@fwaa.com</a>.

###