FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee Sept. 12, 2018



Jardin May lwahl@orangebowl.org 305-341-4785

## Kentucky Assistant Coach John Schlarman is First Weekly Nominee for 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

MIAMI LAKES, FL. (www.orangebowl.org)— Kentucky's John Schlarman is the first weekly nominee for the 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Schlarman, the sixth-year Wildcats offensive line coach, has coached through chemotherapy treatments for an undisclosed form of cancer and was given a game ball following Saturday's win over Florida, the program's first triumph over the Gators since 1986.



"He's a strong man going through a lot and I'm grateful to be able to give him a ball," head coach Mark Stoops told reporters after the game.

Schlarman endured a six-hour treatment on Tuesday morning but was back at practice the same day. Kentucky rushed for 303 yards, averaging 7.4 yards per rush, in the 27-16 victory in Gainesville, Fla. That marked the most rushing yards the Gators had surrendered in a single game since 2002. The Wildcats did not surrender a single sack for the second straight game, either.

Schlarman, who was diagnosed this summer, had been a four-year starter with the Wildcats from 1994-97.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

## Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award:

2017 D'Cota Dixon - Wisconsin
2016 James Conner – Pittsburgh
2015 Hunter Knighton - Miami
2014 Laken Tomlinson - Duke
2013 Anthony Largeval - San Jose State

2013 Anthony Larceval - San Jose State2012 Daniel Rodriguez - Clemson2011 Arthur Ray - Michigan State

2010 Eric LeGrand - Rutgers

2009 University of Connecticut Football Team

**2008** Wilson Holloway - Tulsa **2007** Zerbin Singleton - Navy

2006 Ray Ray McElrathbey - Clemson

2005 Tulane Football Team2004 Haracia Colen - Memphis2003 Neil Parry - San Jose State2002 William Bratton - Toledo

## **About the Orange Bowl**

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-2019 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to orangebowl.org or follow the @OrangeBowl on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

###