FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee November 16, 2016



Schuyler Easterling seasterling@orangebowl.org 305-341-4737

MISSOURI'S ADAM PLOUDRE NOMINATED FOR CAPITAL ONE ORANGE BOWL-FWAA COURAGE AWARD

DALLAS (FWAA) – Missouri's Adam Ploudre is this week's nominee for the **2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.**

Ploudre broke both bones in his lower left leg while entering his junior season in high school, in 2011. Some doctors believed he would never play football, much less be able to walk again. The ensuing recovery required seven different surgeries and a 49 week recovery. After several scholarship offers failed to materialize because of the injury, Ploudre walked on with the Tigers in 2013. A year later, his mother, Kim, was diagnosed with colon cancer.

"There were a lot of moments where I was the stereotypical 'why me' guy," Ploudre told PowerMizzou.com in October. "How can all this stuff happen to me? And the more I think about it, everyone has their story. Everyone has their own path."

First-year coach Barry Odom placed the Ballwin, Mo., native on scholarship this summer. Ploudre earned a start at center in a Sept. 24 win over Delaware State. Additionally, the redshirt junior has started the past four games at right guard for the Tigers. Ploudre's mother continues to undergo chemotherapy treatments but has been able to cheer him on from the stands this year.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are

comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2016. For more information on the 2016-17 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to www.orangebowl.org. Follow Orange Bowl: @OrangeBowl, Facebook and Instagram.

About the FWAA

The Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, or to submit a nomination for this year's Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.

2016 Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

- Sept. 14: James Conner, Pittsburgh
- Sept. 21: Caylin Moore, TCU
- Sept. 28: Riley Sorenson, Washington State
- Oct. 5: Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State
- Oct. 12: Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
- Oct. 19: Mulbah Car, Houston
- Oct. 26: Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea, Hawai'i
- Nov. 2: Shaquem Griffin, UCF
- Nov. 9: Tim White, Arizona State
- Nov. 16: Adam Ploudre, Missouri

###

^{*}Editor's Note: High quality photos of nominee available upon request.