FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee October 19, 2016



Schuyler Easterling seasterling@orangebowl.org 305-341-4737

HOUSTON'S MULBAH CAR NOMINATED FOR CAPITAL ONE ORANGE BOWL-FWAA COURAGE AWARD

DALLAS (FWAA) – Houston's Mulbah Car is this week's nominee for the **2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award**.

Car escaped war in Liberia, landed in Austin, Texas, and, just this past spring, became a U.S. citizen before enrolling at Houston.

"Being from another country, it means so much to be accepted as an American," Car told the Houston Chronicle this past spring. "I'm so grateful just to be accepted."

Car, his mother and his younger sister lived in tents in an immigration camp as Liberia endured a civil war. The family's name had been drawn in a lottery system to be allowed to leave the country when Car was 5, granting his family a fresh start in Texas.

A freshman running back, Car has appeared in six games for the 6-1 Cougars, carrying 49 times for 206 yards with two touchdowns, including a 48-yard, one-touchdown performance this past Saturday in a 38-31 win over Tulsa. The 5-foot-11, 194-pound Carr has added four catches for 37 yards this season.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and

scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2016. For more information on the 2016-17 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to www.orangebowl.org. Follow Orange Bowl: @OrangeBowl, Facebook and Instagram.

About the FWAA

The Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, or to submit a nomination for this year's Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.

2016 Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

- Sept. 14: James Conner, Pittsburgh
- Sept. 21: Caylin Moore, TCU
- Sept. 28: Riley Sorenson, Washington State
- Oct. 5: Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State
- Oct. 12: Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
- Oct. 19: Mulbah Car, Houston

*Editor's Note: High quality photos of nominee available upon request.

###