Football Writers Association of America April 18, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
70 players get early consideration for nation's top interior lineman

DALLAS (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America has released its 2008 Outland Trophy Watch List, which includes two linemen from its 2007 All-America Team Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs and West Virginia offensive tackle Ryan Stanchek. Seventy standout linemen from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946. With input from the entire FWAA membership, the winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man All-America team and picks the three Outland Trophy finalists and the winner.

The 2008 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 11 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPNU Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Three finalists will appear on the show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be on Jan. 15, 2008 in Omaha, Neb.

The Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. Senior defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, who played for the national champion LSU Tigers, won the 2007 Outland Trophy.

Nebraska has more Outland Trophy winners than another school. Seven Cornhuskers have claimed the trophy, with Nebraska center Dave Rimington being the only player to win it twice (in 1981 and '82).

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

Player, School Pos. Cl. Hometown
Geno Atkins, Georgia DT Jr. Pembroke Pines, Fla.
Ted Bentler, Army DT Jr. Davenport, Iowa
Ciron Black, LSU OT Jr. Tyler, Texas
Alex Boone, Ohio State OT Sr. Lakewood, Ohio
Ron Brace, Boston College DT Sr. Springfield, Mass.
Robert Brewster, Ball State OT Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Eben Britton, Arizona OT Jr. Burbank, Calif.
George Bussey, Louisville OT Sr. Louisville, Ky.
Jeff Byers, USC G Sr. Fort Collins, Colo.
Terrill Byrd, Cincinnati DT Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Gerald Cadogan, Penn State OT Sr. Portsmouth, Ohio
Antoine Caldwell, Alabama C Sr. Montgomery, Ala.
Anthony Davis, Rutgers OT So. Piscataway, N.J.
Cedric Dockery, Texas G Sr. Garland, Texas
John Estes, Hawaii C Jr. Stockton, Calif.
Ray Feinga, BYU G Sr. West Valley City, Utah
Alex Fletcher, Stanford C Sr. Old Brookville, N.Y.
John Fletcher, Wyoming DT Jr. Erie, Colo.
Xavier Fulton, Illinois OT Sr. Flossmoor, Ill.
Andrew Gardner, Georgia Tech OT Sr. Tyrone. Ga.
John Gill, Northwestern DT Sr. Los Altos Hills, Calif.
DeMarcus Granger, Oklahoma DT Jr. Dallas, Texas
Brigham Harwell, UCLA DT Sr. Chino Hills, Calif.
Brett Helms, LSU C Sr. Stuttgart, Ark.
Ziggy Hood, Missouri DT Sr. Amarillo, Texas
George Hypolite, Colorado DT Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Greg Isdaner, West Virginia G Jr. Gladwyne, Pa.
Ricky Jean-Francois, LSU DT Jr. Miami, Fla.
John Jerry, Mississippi OT Jr. Batesville, Miss.
Peria Jerry, Mississippi DT Sr. Batesville, Miss.
Herman Johnson, LSU G Sr. Olla, La.
Arthur Jones, Syracuse DT Jr. Endicott, N.Y.
Mitch King, Iowa DT Sr. Burlington, Iowa
Matt Kroul, Iowa DT Sr. Mount Vernon, Iowa
Andy Levitre, Oregon State OT Sr. Ben Lomond, Calif.
Phil Loadholt, Oklahoma OT Sr. Fountain, Colo.
Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas C Sr. Little Rock, Ark.
Alex Mack, California C Sr. Santa Barbara, Calif.
Matt Mandich, Arkansas State OT Sr. Hattiesburg, Miss.
Sen'Derrick Marks, Auburn DT Jr. Mobile, Ala.
Ryan McDonald, Illinois C Sr. Holland, Mich.
Josh McNeil, Tennessee C Jr. Collins, Miss.
Fili Moala, USC DT Sr. Buena Park, Calif.
Eugene Monroe, Virginia OT Sr. South Plainfield, N.J.
Gus Mustakas, Pittsburgh DT Sr. Cooper City, Fla.
Vince Oghobaase, Duke DT Jr. Houston Texas
Michael Oher, Mississippi OT Sr. Memphis, Tenn.
Jeff Owens, Georgia DT Sr. Sunrise, Fla.
Anthony Parker, Tennessee G Sr. Jonesboro, Ga.
Jeremy Perry, Oregon State G Sr. Hau'ula, Hawaii
Steve Rehring, Ohio State G Sr. West Chester, Ohio
Sergio Render, Virginia Tech G Jr. Newnan, Ga.
Dallas Reynolds, BYU OT Sr. Provo, Utah
Duke Robinson, Oklahoma G Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
Ryan Schmidt, USF G Sr. Boca Raton, Fla.
Dorell Scott, Clemson DT Sr. Columbia, S.C.
Sean Sester, Purdue OT Sr. Fort Thomas, Ky.
A.Q. Shipley, Penn State C Sr. Coraopolis, Pa.
Andre Smith, Alabama OT Jr. Birmingham, Ala.
Ryan Stanchek, West Virginia OT Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Jim Tartt, Florida G Jr. Sopchoppy, Fla.
Terrance Taylor, Michigan DT Sr. Muskegon, Mich.
Fenuki Tupou, Oregon OT Sr. Elverta, Calif.
Max Unger, Oregon C Sr. Honaunau, Hawaii
Kraig Urbik, Wisconsin G Sr. Hudson, Wis.
Louis Vasquez, Texas Tech G Sr. Corsicana, Texas
Vance Walker, Georgia Tech DT Sr. Fort Mill, S.C.
Garry Williams, Kentucky OT Sr. Louisville, Ky.
Eric Wood, Louisville C Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Sam Young, Notre Dame OT Jr. Coral Springs, Fla.
Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration
Candidates may be added or removed during the season

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

For more information on the Outland Trophy, go to the official website,, or contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

Related links:
All-time Outland Trophy winners
Outland Trophy official site (

Bob Asmussen Champaign News-Gazette Big Ten
Frank Coyle Draft Insiders National
Chadd Cripe Idaho Statesman Western Athletic
Dennis Dodd Independents
Joseph Duarte Houston Chronicle Big 12 (South)
Antonya English St. Petersburg Times Southeastern (East)
Maureen Fulton Toledo Blade Mid-American
Bob Holt Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Southeastern (West), Sun Belt
Tom Kensler Denver Post Big 12 (North), Mountain West
Lenn Robbins New York Post Big East
George Schroeder Eugene Register-Guard Pacific-10
Phil Steele Phil Steele Magazine National
Paul Strelow The State Atlantic Coast
Phil Stukenborg Memphis Commercial Appeal Conference USA