Sept. 2: Tennessee Sept. 9: Ohio State Sept. 16: Michigan Sept. 23: Notre Dame Sept. 30: Georgia Tech Oct. 7: Arkansas Oct. 14: Indiana Oct. 21: Michigan State Oct. 28: Oregon State Nov. 4: Lousiville Nov. 11: Rutgers Nov. 18: Cincinnati Nov. 25: Texas A&M
Football Writers Association of America Nov. 13, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Scarlet Knights stage remarkable comeback to knock off Louisville

DALLAS (FWAA) With their 28-25 win over Louisville, the Rutgers Scarlet Knights (9-0) are the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, as selected by the pollsters of the FWAA's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll for games of the weekend of Nov. 11.

Jeremy Ito hit a 28-yard field goal with 13 seconds left to cap an 18-point comeback as the Scarlet Knights took over sole possession of first place in the Big East and put themselves in contention for a BCS bowl berth.

Louisville, last week's national team of the week, raced out to a 25-7 lead in the second quarter, but a pair of Ray Rice touchdown runs brought Rutgers back into the game. Rice had 132 yards rushing on the night, including 76 in the fourth quarter.

"It was a little scary at the end with the mob scene," Rutgers coach Greg Schiano said after the game. "But it was fun. This is the way college football is supposed to be."

Other Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Nov. 11 included:

Kansas State (7-4): The Wildcats scored three touchdowns in a 3:06 span of the third quarter and held on to upset Texas, 45-42, and guarantee their first winning season since 2003.

Rice (5-5): Jarrett Dillard caught s 25-yard pass in overtime as the Owls upset Tulsa, 41-38, to win for the fourth time in five games.

Wake Forest (9-1): The Demon Deacons set a school record with their ninth win, a 30-0 victory at Florida State. It was the first time the Seminoles had ever been shut out in 31 seasons under Bobby Bowden.

The FWAA has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the second season that the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

The 16 pollsters of the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll decide the weekly honor. Each Monday during the 2006 college football season, the FWAA will name the Tostitos Bowl National Team of the Week through Nov. 27.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, released each Tuesday, has resumed this season. The top-ranked team in the final poll will be awarded the Grantland Rice Trophy as the FWAA's national champion. The FWAA has awarded the trophy each season since 1954. Texas is the defending FWAA national champion and Ohio State is ranked No. 1 in the most current 2006 poll.

Since 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted five games that have decided the college football national championship, including two Bowl Championship Series title games. The 2007 game will be played on Jan. 1. The Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, along with the new Tostitos BCS Championship Game, moves to the new Cardinals Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., and will be played on Jan. 8.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

2006 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Teams of the Week
Weekend of Sept. 2: Tennessee Volunteers
Weekend of Sept. 9: Ohio State Buckeyes
Weekend of Sept. 16: Michigan Wolverines
Weekend of Sept. 23: Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Weekend of Sept. 30: Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
Weekend of Oct. 7: Arkansas Razorbacks
Weekend of Oct. 14: Indiana Hoosiers
Weekend of Oct. 21: Michigan State Spartans
Weekend of Oct. 28: Oregon State Beavers
Weekend of Nov. 4: Louisville Cardinals
Weekend of Nov. 11: Rutgers Scarlet Knights
Weekend of Nov. 18: Cincinnati Bearcats
Weekend of Nov. 25: Texas A&M Aggies
Mark Anderson
Las Vegas Review Journal
Olin Buchanan
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald
Kalani Simpson
Honolulu Star-Bulletin